Dubai World Cup 2017: Post Time, TV Channel & Schedule of Races

dubai world cup 2017, post time, start, tv channel, horse racing, meydan racecourse schedule, what time, when, where to watch

Though January’s Pegasus World Cup officially claimed the title of world’s richest thoroughbred race, the Dubai World Cup is still quite massive.

With a $10 million purse (for perspective, the winners at the three Triple Crown races received a combined $2.94 million in 2016), and a stacked field, this year’s main event at Meydan Racecourse should be a thrilling one. Arrogate, who dominated the 2016 Travers Stakes, 2016 Breeders’ Cup Classic, 2017 Pegasus World Cup and now has a chance to surpass California Chrome as the richest North American horse of all-time, is the obvious favorite and headliner, but with other successful horses such as Gun Runner, Hoppertunity and Mubtaahij also in the mix, Bob Baffert’s horse will certainly be challenged.

Television coverage in the United States is on NBC Sports Network and begins Saturday at 10:30 a.m. ET. The last four races of the day, including the Dubai World Cup, will be televised, but here’s a complete schedule of the day’s nine races, which have a combined purse total of a whopping $30 million:

Dubai World Cup 2017 Race Schedule

Note: All times are ET

7:45 a.m.: Godolphin Mile Sponsored by Meydan Sobha

8:15 a.m.: Dubai Kahayla Classic Empowered by IPC

8:50 a.m.: Dubai Gold Cup Sponsored by Al Tayer Motors

9:25 a.m.: UAE Derby Sponsored by The Saeed & Mohammed Al Naboodah Group

10 a.m.: Al Quoz Sprint Sponsored by Azizi Developments

10:35 a.m.: Dubai Golden Shaheen Sponsored by Gulf News (NBC Sports Network)

11:30 a.m.: Dubai Turf Sponsored by DP World (NBC Sports Network)

12:05 p.m.: Longines Dubai Sheema Classic (NBC Sports Network)

12:45 p.m.: Dubai World Cup (NBC Sports Network)